Open Letter Series: Dear Bestie

image

The first time we met it felt like two split souls were finally reunited.  I was instantly drawn to you and immediately comfortable in your company.  I think many people were drawn to your beauty without really knowing you.  Once people got to know you it became obvious to anyone that you are not just beautiful on the outside but inside as well.

When I met you I was a different person, I was wearing a mask.  I wanted to hide my fear and shame.

You liked that girl but you allowed me to take off the mask when it was just us.

We became inseparable, two opposite halves making a whole.  Completely different but exactly the same.  We loved the same music, movies and scary books (Bwahahaha) :-).  You became my beautiful sister with the flawless hair and makeup while I had the closet full of the latest trends.  You were the good girl playing by the rules while I went to parties and stayed out late.  We always did our thing, eating some good food and going to the dance club.

We invented our own language and some great food combos…mashed potatoes and popcorn with some sweet tea!  We wrote some amazing notes at school that I still have.  You were the best listener a friend could ask for.

We had the most amazing connection and when we told each other about our pasts it became clear that we were meant to find each other.  We had so much to talk about, so much to carry for each other and so much love for each other.

I have cherished every moment of our almost 30 years together.  I often think that if one small thing had been different in my life, I could have missed you but it was meant to be.  There were so many times I felt like I couldn’t go on but you were there pushing me to survive.  I was always perceived to be the strong one and you so delicate but you fought for me when I couldn’t.  I wonder if that girl ever figured out “who you are” ha!

Never once in 30 years have we not been able to be ourselves with each other and be honest about our feelings, our pain or our few disagreements.

Our lives were linked before we ever met, when you hurt I hurt and vice versa.  I love our long conversations over lunch or dinner and how we always know what to say to make it better.

I still think you are the most beautiful girl I’ve ever met, the most caring and thoughtful girl with a contagious personality and a wicked talent for crafts!

We will never lose each other, no matter what happens in our lives.  We will be the colorful crazy old ladies in the home laughing it up.  The old birds in there will be so jealous of us.  Our bond will last well beyond our time on earth.

I hope we’re reincarnated as witches or mermaids next time!

I love you with my whole heart.

Love,
Tracy

P.S. I’m in a Buffalo Stance at this very moment!

3 thoughts on “Open Letter Series: Dear Bestie

  1. So wonderful and cute!! Glad you’ve made such a strong friendship continue with life and breath over all the years! I love the bit of you too being old ladies together in a home, hehe, I can imagine that with one of my friends, Jeanine too, and that is awesome =]

    Great work! Wonderfully written ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

